The Lowdown

LONG STORY SHORT,

the-perfect-couple-2

 

we were the perfect couple.

A dog and a blog away from being the apple pie, rosy cheeked duo adored by all.

We traveled the world together, we didn’t fight, and we loved each other fiercely.

So, naturally, as a cliche twenty-something, I left.

Yanno, to go

FIND MYSELF.

#predictable

Well, if anyone doesn’t know “I want to find myself” is code for:

I want to see what it’s like to fuck around with other people.

Sorry. It just is. We all know it is true no matter how much we want to deny it.

To all of you who do not think that this is a valid reason to break up with someone who is perfectly lovely, handsome and kind, my rebuttal is threefold

  1. Evolution, enough said.
  2. Relationships (of any kind) help you figure out what you want and don’t want.
  3. Humans live forever these days.

So the breakup went a little bit like this –

11 am – graduated

9 pm – “I think this is something I need to do”

1 am – packed

10 am – moved to Chicago

Yes, yes, I played the part of

COLD HEARTED BITCH.

Some called me courageous for leaving a relationship after 5 1/2 years, but it was mostly speculated that I was having an evil whore having a mental breakdown.

Which, I mean, is only half untrue…

3 thoughts on “The Lowdown

    1. But if you look at point 3 of my rebuttal (Humans live forever these days), 27 is SO FRICKING YOUNG in the scope of life! So really you just have the advantage. You have a higher chance of being happier later because being single/casually dating is like being in college lol. Years of investing in yourself and learning for more of a payoff later. Or if you think of how when you are with someone for a long time you realize all the stuff about them that annoys the shit out of you, the longer we wait until we get married the less years we have to spend being annoyed by our partners!! Plus we all romanticize our past lovers, if you were meant together, you would be together. It is honestly that simple. It isn’t wrong to think about him, but dwelling is counterproductive. See it for what it was, thank him in your heart for what he gave you, and then remember that being single is awesome as hell!!!! Go out and live your shit up!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so right. When I do think about it, I’m like, there’s a reason why I left. It just gets lonely sometimes lol and dating is hard. But thanks, your reply made me smile! I am still young and I still have time to find an awesome person for me, because if he was so awesome then I wouldn’t have left. Good luck and enjoy your life 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

